In the depths of my sleep, in my night visions

I have continually seen the weaknesses and filthiness of ones’ flesh

I have heard its lips speak everything evil, and folly

Who is this person unknown to me in their outward ways?

Why do they keep appearing to me?

Shockingly discovered

This unknown person is me

BUT it isn’t me.

How can this be so?

For I know that in me,

That is, in my flesh,

Dwells no good thing,

For my desire is present with me,

But I don’t find it doing that which is good.

BUT WAIT!

Nearby, I see another me

A side of me that is more recognizable

It is me of my spirit

And I hear my spirits’ cry

A cry of needed rescue

A cry of readiness for release

OH, spirit of my soul, I hear your cry and I will not ignore it!

What does this all mean?

It means that the flesh lusts against the Spirit and the Spirit against the flesh; and these are contrary one to the other. The spirit is indeed willing but the flesh is weak. I must walk in the spirit and abstain from fleshly lust which war against the spirit.

But when this corruptible will have put on incorruption, and this mortal will have put on immortality, then what is written will happen: "Death is swallowed up in victory."

Note: Let us cleanse ourselves from all defilement of flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God.

This battle has been since the beginning and now this battle is within us!

BattleWithin.gif The Battle Within image by Venoul

